Thread: Quick Pitch?
View Single Post
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jun 12, 2002, 03:47pm
jicecone jicecone is offline
Official Forum Member
Join Date: Apr 2001
Posts: 2,716
"Scientifically, in order to change direction he must stop. (Think a ball can't come down until it stops going up.)
I think if a full second was required, then they should say a full second."

As I said "Im sure there are some technical scientific umpires out there that may disagree".

A ball will reach its apex when it acheves zero velocity and the earths gravitatioal pull take over. Does it theoretically stop? Yes. Now how you can compare a ball to a human being and their ability to change direction without stopping is beyond me.

I repeat, I dont think a FRACTION of a second (SHOULD or COULD) be considered a complete stop.

Mabey the rules could be changed to "the pitcher must come to a 2 mississippi stop". Just my opinion
Reply With Quote