Thread: AP question
View Single Post
  #37 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jan 31, 2008, 01:50pm
rainmaker rainmaker is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: Portland, Oregon
Posts: 9,466
Send a message via AIM to rainmaker
Quote:
Originally Posted by bob jenkins
Read it as "The throw in ends when the released ball is legally touched."

In the OP, the ball wasn't released.

In the revision, the ball was released (but not "voluntarily" -- that doesn't matter).

In the case play, yes, it's assuming action that would be a "held ball" if it happened during inbounds play.
Just another example of the need for re-working the rule book.
Reply With Quote