Quote:
Originally Posted by Smitty
I was simply refuting your claim that by definition taking the ball away from the inbounder when they hold it on the inbounds side of the line is always a held ball. I am assuming, based on the previous rule citation, even though the ball is slapped out of the inbounder's hand and play goes on from there, the arrow is not reversed because the thrower never released the ball, and therefore the throw-in never ended. Seems weird, but that's how it seems to play out.
|
Semantics, but I didn't claim, I questioned.
7.6.4 SITUATION F: Thrower A1 inadvertently holds the ball through the end-line plane during a throw-in. B1 is able to get his/her hands on the ball and A1 cannot pull it back.
The case play does not say A1 and B1 are in a tug-of-war but I think it assumes it. It could occurr where the ball is cleanly snatched from A1, yet B1 got their hands on the ball and A1 could not pull it back (meeting the terms of 7.6.4).