View Single Post
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jan 31, 2008, 11:54am
fullor30 fullor30 is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 2,842
Quote:
Originally Posted by jodibuck
Team A player makes layup, then slaps backboard with both hands. Coach of Team B yells for technical foul. My referee tells the coach the slapping of backboard was incidental. We discussed it at halftime, and he said offensive slapping of backboard is not a technical. He said it can be called only if the defensive player slaps backboard trying to bring attention to himself. The rule book does not specify offense or defense. My referee also advised for us to not "put something in the game". I've heard this so many times. It seems some of our veteran officials want to enforce certain rules, and let other rules go, just to get the game over.
This is a judgement call, the way you describe it, it appears to be intentional.


Section 3

A player shall not

ART. 5 . . . Illegally contact the backboard/ring by:


b. Intentionally slapping or striking the backboard or causing the ring to vibrate while a try or tap is in flight or is touching the backboard or is in the basket or in the cylinder above the basket.
Reply With Quote