Quote:
Originally Posted by dkmz17
Here's the situation:
Team A down by 1 with 4.9 seconds to go and Team A inbounding the ball under their own basket. Ball is inbounded to A2, who shots and misses, A3 gets the rebound and as she tries to get off a shot, is shoved in the back by B3. Official blows the whistle and has a foul on B3. When officials look at the clock after the foul is whistled, the time shows 0.0, but the horn did not sound. It is apparently reported to the officials by the timer, that the clock malfunctioned, and the horn did not go off, but neither the table or the officials know at what point the time ran out. Team A is in the double bonus.
Does A3 get to shoot free throws? Can the officials announce that the game was over before the foul? Can you replay the last 4.9 seconds, or some portion of the time remaining?
For the record, before you guys start answering, the official's at the game decided to "split the baby". They waived off the foul and put 2.4 seconds on the clock and gave the ball back to Team A for an inbounds under Team A's basket. Team A missed and lost.
I would think that the officials, having no way to positively determine how much time should have run off and having not seen the clock at 0.0 before the foul, should have had A3 shoot the free throws, either with the lane clear and no time left, or possibly, although I don't think this could be properly done, put some time back on the clock, but still shoot the free throws.
|
I would have given A the FTs unless I knew that more than 4.9s elapsed, evne without a definite count. Say that A took 4 shots and rebounded each time, and was fouled on the 5th shot attempt. I would rule that time ran out, but as this play is given to us, I think you have to go with the 2 shots.
This is of course assuming that it's known that after the clock is started, the horn won't sound. I mention this because I have had the clock reading zeros, with the horn not sounding yet. Once the clock was started again, the horn sounded.