View Single Post
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Sat Jan 26, 2008, 08:07am
JugglingReferee JugglingReferee is offline
Fav theme: Roundball Rock
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: Near Dog River (sorta)
Posts: 8,558
Quote:
Originally Posted by grunewar
A1 at the line shooting first of two. A1 shoots first shot and violates by stepping over free throw line. T (Ref) signals violation. Ball hits rim and bounces away. R signals throw in underneath. U (administering free throws) confers and asks are you sure? R says yes. U says he should get another attempt and violation only dissallows first attempt. R says since first shot was missed, if throw-in didn't go to B, there would be no penalty on A for the violation.

Rule Book 9. Section 1, Penalties - clearly states that the ball becomes dead when the violation occurred and the out of bounds provision applies "if no further free throws are to be administered."

Sounds like this was "kicked." What say ye? Shoot the second?
Shooter A1 violating on the FTA means that if it goes in, no point is awarded. No substitute FT is permitted. Because the official doesn't know if the shot will go in until after the violation, s/he should blow the play dead before the shot's result is known. The FTA is dead and we move on to the second throw.

The T kicked the ruling.
__________________
Pope Francis
Reply With Quote