Quote:
Originally Posted by UMP25
But what if no appeal is made, Steve? That's the issue here. If no appeal is made, passing the plate without touching it is equivalent to actually touching it, as weird as that may sound.
Your statement above would cause problems if, for example, R3 leaves early on a fly ball caught when another runner is nailed for the third out and no appeal is made on R3, who touched the plate before that third out was made. Do we not count his run because it's an "appeal play," even though no appeal was ever made? After all, he didn't "legally" score. 
|
I'm scoring the run. They do actually have to touch the base to make the run count, but if they don't, the defense has to make a proper appeal first. Like I said, once he is past the plate, the time play is removed. I don't care if he goes back and touches the base. All the defense can do if he doesn't go back and touch the base is an advantageous fourth out appeal of a missed base. I trying to figure why some will count a run if no touch and no appeal, but will reinstate a time play if runner touches the plate and wipe out a run. That's what makes no sense to me.
I don't know of a rule that says a runner cannot "legally" correct a base running mistake after a third out. That's the defense's job, not the umpire's.
I think the Evans interpretation makes much more sense than what Roder is getting at.
I would have the runner out only on proper appeal.