Thread: ASA Question
View Single Post
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jan 24, 2008, 12:53pm
Dakota Dakota is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: Twin Cities MN
Posts: 8,154
Quote:
Originally Posted by IRISHMAFIA
With two outs, R1 on 3B and R2 on 1B, B5 hits a ball that deflects off of F6's glove. B5 is obstructed rounding 1B and the base umpire signals obstruction. Prior to R2 reaching home plate, B5 is tagged out during a rundown going back to 1B. The plate umpire should:

a) signal that R2's run does not count.
b) hesitate to see if the base umpire enforces obstruction.
c) after play is completed, call "Dead Ball", confer with the base umpire, then rule if R2's run counts.
d) none of the above.
That is really a screwed up question / answers.

If you assume the BU was doing what the situation would require him to do... wait, you can't assume that because of choice b).

I suppose you CAN assume the PU sees the obstruction call, otherwise choices b) and c) make no sense. a) would be the normal call if OBS had not been signalled, so you can't tell from that answer what the PU saw or didn't see other than the tag and the position of R2 at the time of the tag.

Mike, can you find out who wrote this question and send him that fickle finger trophy?
__________________
Tom
Reply With Quote