View Single Post
  #24 (permalink)  
Old Tue Jan 22, 2008, 01:42pm
Mrumpiresir Mrumpiresir is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Aurora CO
Posts: 145
Quote:
Originally Posted by greymule
On the other hand, this well-known play seems to be evidence the other way:

Abel on 3B, Baker on 1B, two outs. Ground ball up the middle. F6 gloves the ball in front of 2B and attempts to tag the sliding Baker instead of tagging the base. The tag is missed, but Baker slides past the base without touching it. As Baker scrambles back to the base, F6 tags him before he is able to return. Abel scored before the tag was applied for the third out (a "time play"). The defense appeals that Baker missed 2B, hoping to get a force out—an advantageous fourth out—to negate the run.

Ruling: The appeal is denied and the run counts.

What am I missing here? We all know that no run can score if a runner misses the base he is forced to and is subsequently called out on appeal for the third out. Why in your scenario is the appeal denied?
Reply With Quote