Quote:
Originally Posted by BayStateRef
Rule 5-11-3 exception: "No time out is charged a. if in 5-8-3, the player's request results from displaced eyeglasses or lens."
As far as I can tell, that is the only place in the rule book, case book or mechanics manual that discusses this. I have worked with many partners, however, who insist we must have a "C" in the book next to a player that is wearing contacts. I don't do this and tell those partners there is no such rule requiring it. If a player says they lost a lens or I can see them fumbling trying to get a lens back in, they get to do it without getting a charged time out. That's what the rule says...and their word is good enough for me.
How long to wait? How long do you wait for an injured player? I wait until the lens is found or the player (or coach) decides it is time to move on. Contacts are (generally) not expensive any more, so losing a lens is not the big deal it once was.
|
Thank you. In Western PA, they have been noting with a "C" by the player's name if they wear contacts. This was probably some local directive way back when. When I heard the other refs insisting there was a penalty if there was no "C" in the book I had to find out for sure. Thanks for all the comments.