There is nothing about a foul tip having to be caught over foul territory in my ASA rule books back through 1998, but without rule books back to the first one published, who knows? I would be very surprised, though, to find any such stipulation in any code, including baseball.
Maybe the 1933 rule book worded the definition in such a way that some inference could be made about foul territory. Again, I suspect that any present confusion results from the badly worded case play.
The main difference among codes regarding foul tip involves whether the ball has to be caught by the catcher. In ASA and NCAA it must be caught by the catcher. In Fed, "any fielder" can catch it (2002 book). The OBR book says simply "caught" and doesn't specify the catcher.
__________________
greymule
More whiskey—and fresh horses for my men!
Roll Tide!
|