Quote:
Originally Posted by Nevadaref
Not necessarily true. There is no way of knowing for sure how long a turn the right of left takes. What if the catch isn't clean, but a quick bobble of slip of the ball? Does an official have definite knowledge that the try can't count? Nope.
What if the clock had read 0.8, 1.4, or 2.6? How many dribbles and pivots is he going to allow before he declares time to have expired? Thinking in such a manner is dangerous as it can only lead to problems and wrong decisions.
Simply put his advocated criterion has no validity under NFHS rules and shouldn't be used.
|
I believe it is better to prepare yourself mentally for the scneario by thinking "ok with .4 left it is going to have to be a quick shot, no time for any other motion" than it is to just not plan for anything and whenever the horn comes it comes...you can't count to .4 so it doesn't do a whole lot of good to count in this scenario other than to say that if you get to 1 with your count then the shot definitely doesn't count...I am not saying that I waved the shot off solely based on my own criteria, the horn was right there...I guess the idea is that the "gather" means she loses the benefit of the doubt...