View Single Post
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Sun Jan 06, 2008, 01:56am
waltjp waltjp is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Randolph, NJ
Posts: 1,936
Send a message via Yahoo to waltjp
Quote:
Originally Posted by ljdave
I don't have my books next to me, but there is a clause in the Fed. rules that says that in this situation, the referee shall place the ball so that the tail end of the ball is not penetrating the goal line.

As for your scenario where there is a turnover on downs, the ball is to be placed exactly where it was at the start of fourth down and the l.o.s. moves from one end of the ball to the other on the change of possession.
Dave, either not comprehending what you wrote or one of us is wrong. You say "in this situation", which seems to imply that in "other" situations the ball would be moved following a loss of possession on downs.

Am I reading you correctly?
Reply With Quote