Possession after double foul...
Youth-league 14-15yr old girls playing NFHS rules (with a few modifications).
Team A has possession with guard dribbling above the 3-point arc.
In the lane an A player and B player start roughing each other with pushing and elbows somewhat simultaneously.
Double Foul is called on the elbowing players.
After foul administration, I say to my partner "A ball on the side." (since A's guard had control at time of fouls)
As I run down to take the lead position, B's coach is trying to tell me that it should be his ball because of alternating possession arrow.
I said, "No... A's non-involved guard had control at time of fouls, so A gets ball on side."
Coach gives me this long, you gotta be kidding me look and yells "C'mon, are you serious?"
I just give him that "Sorry, that's the way it is" shrug.
So, of course after the game in the comfort of my own home, I dig through the rule book and find 6-4-3g, which, if I am reading correctly, says that alternating possession can only occur if niether team had control at time of double foul. Since, at time of interruption, A-guard (whom was not involved in the fouls) had control, A gets ball.
So, two questions:
1) I did make the right call... right?
2) What if one of the fouling players had control of the ball? Does it still go to the team who had control at point of interruption?
Thanks,
Paul
|