View Single Post
  #19 (permalink)  
Old Tue Jan 01, 2008, 10:43pm
Nevadaref Nevadaref is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 15,015
Quote:
Originally Posted by Scrapper1
I don't have my books with me at the moment. Can you tell me why these two things go together? I know that the POI definition says that the POI is a throw-in if the interruption occurs during a throw-in. But off the top of my head, I can't remember if it specifies that the throw-in is from the previous spot.

If it doesn't specify that, then why wouldn't the ball be put back in play at the spot closest to where it was when the interruption occurred?
The inclusion of POI in the NFHS game is still a rather new thing. The NFHS has not issued any statement that makes it crystal clear that the POI throw-in comes from the previous spot when play is interrupted during a throw-in. The closest is new case play 5.10.1 Situation E parts a + b. (The team can still run the end line.) It's just a logical conclusion.

The NCAA, however, has explicitly stated that the throw-in returns to the original spot in such cases. If there is any doubt about the NFHS rule, the referee has the right to invoke that NCAA clarification per 2-3.
Reply With Quote