Thread: Kobe's elbow
View Single Post
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Wed May 29, 2002, 11:57am
Camron Rust Camron Rust is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Location: In the offseason.
Posts: 12,263
Re: Nothing or a block.

[QUOTE]Originally posted by JRutledge
Quote:
Originally posted by zaheer
In Saturday's Lakers/Kings game, Kobe was holding the ball at the three point line. Doug Christie was crouched down, defending him closely. Kobe was holding the ball at about eye level, and when he pivoted he caught Christie in the face with an elbow. Chrisite fell to the ground and the official (Dick Bavetta I believe) immediately called a defensive blocking foul.

Correct call?

Either a block or a no call. Kobe did nothing but move the ball from one position to another. The action was not exaggerated or really outside of his vertical space. If anything Christie got up right next to Kobe and Kobe had no place to go.
[/QUOTE

Sounds like great defense to me!

Quote:
If you call anything, call a block. But I think you could have called nothing too. Just because you get hit in the face does not automatically mean that a foul has been against the person that hit you in the face. The rules of verticality should still apply.

Peace

If Kobe was in his own vertical plane, how did he contact Christie who was only "right next to Kobe" and in a legal guarding position?

Sounds like anything but a block.
Reply With Quote