| 
		
	
		
		
			
			 
				
				B Conference during sub for A1's fifth foul
			 
			 
			
		
		
		
			
			I think I know the answer to this but am seeking confirmation.  A1 commits his fifth foul; table buzzes the horn and notifies the officials it is his fifth foul; officials notify A coach.  As soon as he understands it is A1's fifth foul, B coach calls his players to the front of his bench hoping to get a few seconds of conference.  But A coach immediately sends in a substitute and doesn't want to take any of the allowed time to make this substitution.  Officials tell B coach to have B team come right back on to the court.  B coach argues he can take 20-30 seconds to confer with his players.  I tell B coach "He [A coach] can take time to substitute but you can't be granted the time if he substitutes immediately."   B coach gives me a doubting look and reluctantly sends his players back out.  Was this the correct application of the rules?
		 
		
		
		
		
		
		
		
		
	
	 |