Quote:
Originally Posted by GarthB
PBUC evaluators will tell you that while that is true, it should not be interpreted as meaning the throw can come from anywhere.
The rule came about when the the first base bag straddled the base line. The inside portion "belonged" to the fielder, the outside. The rule was to protect the fielder's opportunity to field a throw from the plate and area between the mound and home, not to necessarily restrict the runner.
The comment from PBUC that "expanded" from where the throw could orginate was meant to include the mound and the areas of infield where the angle of a quality throw could still result in the runner interfering with the opporutnity of the fielder to field the throw.
A direct throw from F4 and most throws from F5 and F6 are still not ingredients to invoke this rule, at least in the mind of the evaluator I spoke with, and is certainly not included in what is taught at proschool.
|
When CC first reported the ruling he had a major hissy fit about it. The first time it was in the BRD there was considerable "editorial comment" - since removed. The impression I got back then was that the throw could come from anywhere, and I think I remember that there was an additional comment from Fitzpatrick on the order of not giving the runner license to crash into the fielder.
If F3 or F4 is throwing, from beyond the base, to F1 covering, do you not want to protect the fielder?