View Single Post
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Fri May 24, 2002, 03:56pm
Bfair Bfair is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Posts: 813
Quote:
Originally posted by greymule
Bluezebra is correct: Fed always advances the runner a base, not differentiating between types of obstruction. But in certain situations (e.g., runner rounds 1B, contacts F3, no real attempt to advance evident, no play on the runner), umps routinely disregard the book and keep him at 1B.

Of course, in the play that started this thread, the award would still be just 2B.
Greymule, I agree they disregard the book on such obstructions that do not impact play. However, it should be noted that they disregard it by not calling obstruction unless it impacts play.

It is not disregarded regarding the award. When obstruction is called, the proper award per Fed rule is made. It's easier to overlook the judgment of the infraction than the objective limits of the penalty.


Just my opinion,

Freix

Reply With Quote