View Single Post
  #32 (permalink)  
Old Wed Dec 19, 2007, 02:10pm
Adam's Avatar
Adam Adam is offline
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,190
Quote:
Originally Posted by tonyvan
So potentially could have violation (for being out of bounds illegally), then a technical foul afterwards if there is a delay returning in bounds?
No. The violation would make the ball dead, so there's no technical foul.
The technical foul is for delaying the return after being OOB "legally."

In the situation I described, a member of the throw in team leaves illegally, returns in bounds a few seconds later to receive the throw in, the team is whistled for a throw in violation and they lost their alternating possession. Is that a correct ruling?[/QUOTE]
Yes, the ruling is correct. The arrow flips when the throwin is complete. The throwin is complete when the throwin team violates.
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.
Reply With Quote