Originally posted by Whowefoolin
Runner goes to second trying to hoof out a single. Bad, lazy throw to second, but second baseman is camped infront of second base.
Runner slides into second and gets hung up on the second baseman and doesn't make it to second. Throw comes in and tag applied.
I have obstruction because of the "camping" by the second baseman. My question, is the runner only awarded second (which would be an award of 12") or does he get third too?
Please explain if he gets third. I was told he does.
Most of the time, an obstructed runner will get a 1 base award. We need what is called "post obstruction" evidence to award add'l bases.
Let's take your original example, except this time the ball is bobbled in the outfield or thrown into DBT. Originally, our protection is to second base, however, the defense committed error number 2 on this play - they didn't handle the ball cleanly or they threw it away.
To further illustrate here's a play from Carl Childress's BRD page 174 play 140-331
B1 hits safely just over the head of F6. The batter, noting that F7 is lazily coming to the ball, decides to try for two. Hurriedly F7 gets the ball and in his haste fires one over everyone's head. The ball eventually winds up in DBT. Before the throw is airborne, F3 who was trailing the play, trips B1 from behind, and the BR limps safely but angrily into second.
RULING: Penalize for both the obstruction and the overthrow. Without the obstruction B1 would have been at second. The umpire will measure the award from the base B1 would have made but for the obstruction he goes home.
Based soley on the info you provided, IMO, there was no further evidence to award B1 third base. The ball was not bobbled or thrown away, so the award is second base.
Pete Booth
__________________
Peter M. Booth
|