The other night, at a tournament, I was having a discussion with a young assistant coach who has been a player in Europe recently, about rule differences, here from there. He asked if after a made basket the player making the throw-in had to have both feet established out of bounds. Another guy, an older guy, who up until recently was a coach, and, I believe, has also done some officiating, spoke up and said, "Yes." I quickly and quietly said that you did not, that the only thing that I could think of off hand that required both feet to be anywhere was establishing legal guarding position. The older guy responded with the famous comment that we have all heard before: "They may have changed it, but it used to be that way." Is this true?
__________________
I swear, Gus, you'd argue with a possum.
It'd be easier than arguing with you, Woodrow.
Lonesome Dove
|