Quote:
Originally Posted by kblehman
Originally Posted by Freddy
Happened tonite. A1 in backcourt passes to A2 in frontcourt. A2 passes back to A1 who catches the pass in midair after jumping from backcourt, landing in the frontcourt with ball control. Backcourt violation?
I've had debates about this play, too, and I haven't yet seen an explanation in this thread. Is it because A1's last established position was in the backcourt and had not yet established position in the frontcourt?
|
Okay. Once A2 receives the initial pass from A1, the ball is now in FC with team control for A.
Once A1 touches the pass from A2, the ball now gains BC status since A2 has BC status by virtue of his last contact with the floor. For rule purposes, he may as well have been standing in the back court.