View Single Post
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Thu Dec 13, 2007, 08:14am
Nevadaref Nevadaref is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 15,015
Quote:
Originally Posted by 181174
Just to clarify the ball didn't hit the rim or the backboard, the player shot it over the rim and caught it on the other side without the ball touching anything else. Just wanted to clarify that it didn't hit the backboard either and see if that still makes it a legal play? thanks.
Straight out of the NFHS case book:

4.44 SITUATION B: A1 attempts a try after ending the dribble. The try does not touch the backboard, the rim or any other player. A1 runs and is able to catch the ball before it strikes the floor. Is this traveling? RULING: No. When A1 recovered his/her own try, A1 could either dribble, pass or try again. There was no team control after the ball was released on a try. (4-12; 4-41)
Reply With Quote