View Single Post
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Wed Dec 12, 2007, 09:25am
waltjp waltjp is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Randolph, NJ
Posts: 1,936
Send a message via Yahoo to waltjp
FED 10-2-2 was revised for 2007. A portion of the rule addressing post scrimmage kick fouls was removed and added as 10-2-3 for 2007. Articles 10-2-3 through 10-2-6 were renumbered as 10-2-4 through 10-2-6 for 2007.

10-2-2 (2006)

If each team fouls during a down in which there is a change of team possession and the play does not have a 2-16-2g (post-scrimmage kick) foul, the team last gaining possession may retain the ball, provided its foul is not prior to the final change of possession and it declined the penalty for its opponent’s foul, other than a nonplayer or unsportsmanlike foul. In this case, the team not last in possession has no penalty options. If each team fouls during a down in which there is a change of possession and all R fouls are post-scrimmage kick fouls (2-16-2g), then R may retain the ball, provided R declines the penalty for K’s fouls(s), other than a nonplayer or unsportsmanlike foul. In this case, the team that was not last in possession has no penalty options and the foul against R will be enforced.

The portion in RED is now 10-2-3 for 2007

10-2-2 (2007)

If each team fouls during a down in which there is a change of team possession and the play does not have a post-scrimmage kick foul, the team last gaining possession may retain the ball, provided its foul is not prior to the final change of possession and it declined the penalty for its opponent’s foul(s) prior to the change of possession, other than a nonplayer or unsportsmanlike foul. In this case, the team that was not last in possession has no penalty options until the team last in possession has made its penalty decision on the fouls prior to the change of possession, and then all fouls and options are administered to the offended team(s).

The portion in BLUE was revised or added for 2007.

As written in 2006, A had no option once B declined the foul on A. The rule for 2007 clarifies that statement by adding “until the team last in possession has made its penalty decision.”

What it means is you give B (or whatever team is last to possess the ball) the option to keep the ball by declining the penalty on A. If B decides to decline the penalty and keeps the ball you then give A their options.

Last edited by waltjp; Wed Dec 12, 2007 at 09:33am.
Reply With Quote