View Single Post
  #22 (permalink)  
Old Tue Dec 11, 2007, 09:14pm
Nevadaref Nevadaref is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 15,015
Come on folks, understand the concept

We've discussed this issue before on this forum. An official incorrectly hearing something and wrongly believing that a time-out request was made when it wasn't is an accidental whistle. There was no actual reason to blow the whistle. (BTW accidental whistle appears in 4-36-1 and 7.5.3)
This is very different from when a coach or player DOES in fact request a time-out, but it is in a situation in which the request cannot be granted by rule, yet the official mistakenly grants the request. In that case, the time-out cannot be revoked and is charged.
Reply With Quote