View Single Post
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Tue Dec 11, 2007, 09:47am
Nevadaref Nevadaref is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 15,015
No violation. That's why you can't find a rule against it in the book.

You will find it in the case book and it says that this is legal.

9.2.2 SITUATION A: Thrower A1 attempts deception by: (a) causing the ball to carom from the wall behind him/her, or from the floor out of bounds and then into the court; (b) caroming the ball from the back of the backboard to a player in the court; or (c) throwing the ball against the side or the front face of the backboard, after which it rebounds into the hands of A2. RULING: Violation in (a) and (b), since the throw did not go directly inbounds. The throw-in in (c) is legal. The side and front face of the backboard are inbounds and, in this specific situation, are treated the same as the floor inbounds.

Last edited by Nevadaref; Tue Dec 11, 2007 at 09:50am.
Reply With Quote