Thread: U mayk da cawl
View Single Post
  #63 (permalink)  
Old Sat Dec 08, 2007, 11:33pm
jdw3018 jdw3018 is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Oklahoma
Posts: 1,896
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mark T. DeNucci, Sr.
NFHS Casebook Play 4.19.12 SITUATION: B1 fouls airborne A1 who is in the act of shooting. Before airborne shooter A1 returns one foot to the floor, he/she is fouled by B2 who has moved into A1's landing area. The ball: (a) does; or (b) does not, enter the basket. RULING: This is a false multiple foul and each foul carries its own penalty. In (a), the goal is counted and A1 is awarded one free throw for each foul. In (b), A1 is awarded two free throws for each foul. R10-S6, Penalty 6 and 7. (My note: I do not know why Penalty 6 is referenced; it should be Penalty 2 and 5.)

So the correct Ruling is a false multiple foul with A1 shooting either four or six free throws.
Well, harumph. Now I have to admit you were right and also raise my eyebrow at the use of the term "approximately" in the rule book.

I really wish they'd define it, because anything that happens in less than a second's time would constitute approximately to me...though the NFHS is obviously going to disagree with me.
Reply With Quote