Quote:
Originally Posted by Mark T. DeNucci, Sr.
Camron and jdw3018:
I have just completed a post (see the last paragraph), but I will address your concerns tomorrow.
Have a great day.
MTD, Sr.
|
Well, next day turned into nine days. Lets review (please bear with me):
From my Post #37:
SITUATION:
Play 1) A1 attempts a 3 pt. FG.
Play 2) A1 is fouled by B1 while in the act of shooting (the ball is still in A1's hands).
Play 3) After A1 has released the ball and while still an airborne shooter, A1 is fouled by B2.
RULING:
Rulings 1, 2, and 3) The fouls by B1 and B2 constitute a false multiple foul. Each foul in a false multiple foul carries it own penalty. See Ruling (6): A1's 3 pt. attempt is successful. Score three points for A1 (See Ruling (6).) and Team A and A1 will be awarded one free throw for B1's foul and one free throw for B2's foul. B1 and B2's fouls are personal fouls and are counted toward their five PF and TF's for disqualification and is counted toward Team B's seven and ten team fouls for the half.
From my Post #51:
1) The fact that A1's field goal attempt was successful makes it easy for the official to determine how many free throws are to be awarded to A1. A1 will be awarded only one free throw for each foul by B1 and B2, therefore A1 will be awarded two free throws whether B1 and B2’s fouls are ruled a multiple foul or a false multiple foul.
2) If A1's field goal had not been successful, then the game officials have a wonderful problem in determining how many free throws to award to A1. Let’s look at this situation as if one were answering a test question.
NFHS R5-S2-A1 and NFHS Casebook Play 5.2.1 SITUATION C (c) and (d) are the pertinent rules references. While this rules and casebook play refer to situations where the field goal attempt was successful, they tell us how to determine the number of free throws to be awarded to A1’s field goal attempt was unsuccessful.
2a) Let’s first look at how Casebook Play 5.2.1 SITUATION C (c) applies to our situation.
B1 and B2’s fouls are ruled a multiple foul:
A1 will be awarded two free throw for each foul by B1 and B2, therefore A1 will be awarded four free throws.
B1 and B2’s fouls are ruled a false multiple foul:
A1 will be awarded three free throw for each foul by B1 and B2, therefore A1 will be awarded six free throws.
2b) Now let’s look at how Casebook Play 5.2.1 SITUATION C (d) applies to our situation.
B1 and B2’s fouls are ruled a multiple foul:
A1 will be awarded one free throw for each foul by B1 and B2, therefore A1 will be awarded two free throws.
B1 and B2’s fouls are ruled a false multiple foul:
A1 will be awarded two free throw for each foul by B1 and B2, therefore A1 will be awarded four free throws.
Then JimGolf made Post #52 and threw a monkey wrench into my brilliant analyse for the situation up until point:
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mark T. DeNucci, Sr. (Post #37):
Play 5) While A1's try is still on its way up, the ball is touched by A3.
MTD, Sr.
Not quite.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mark Padgett (Post #18):
To answer an earlier question, the ball was touched on its downward arch.
When I made my interpretation regarding the false multiple foul (see my Post #37) I did so because of my superior knowledge of the rules and my superior ability to interprete the rules. (Now everybody knows why I have brown eyes, I am full of horse manure,

, but I digress.)
This morning during the Wood Co. Bkb. Off. Assn. RULES/MECHANICS meeting I was bored from listening to The Preacher (Daryl Long,

) so I decided to read the 2007-08 NFHS Casebook for 2007-08 and guess what I found on page 31 of said book:
NFHS Casebook Play 4.19.12 SITUATION: B1 fouls airborne A1 who is in the act of shooting. Before airborne shooter A1 returns one foot to the floor, he/she is fouled by B2 who has moved into A1's landing area. The ball: (a) does; or (b) does not, enter the basket. RULING: This is a false multiple foul and each foul carries its own penalty. In (a), the goal is counted and A1 is awarded one free throw for each foul. In (b), A1 is awarded two free throws for each foul. R10-S6, Penalty 6 and 7. (My note: I do not know why Penalty 6 is referenced; it should be Penalty 2 and 5.)
So the correct Ruling is a false multiple foul with A1 shooting either four or six free throws.
MTD, Sr.