View Single Post
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Fri Dec 07, 2007, 04:45pm
Indianaref Indianaref is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 1,086
Quote:
Originally Posted by ranjo
Originally Posted by ranjo
9.2.8 SITUATION: Team A is awarded an alternation-possession throw-in. A1lobs the throw-in pass toward A2 who is breaking for the basket. The throw-in pass is too high and lodges between the ring and backboard. RULING: Volation by A1 for lodging the untouched throw-in pass. Team B's ball at the throw-in spot. Since A1 violated during an alternating-possession throw-in, Team A has lost the arrow. Team B will have the arrow for the next alternating-possession throw-in. (6-4-5)

So the question is: When do we change the arrow?
1) As soon as the violation occurs.
3. When the ball is legally touched in-bounds.


Both answers 1&3 are correct. Rules 6-4-4&5.


So are you saying the arrow is changed twice? Once on the violation and again when the ball is leagally touched in-bounds?

My thought was that when A1 violated and Team B had the ball for a throw-in, it was not considered an alternating possession throw-in.

I'm confused - Please help me fill in the blanks.
Team B will have a throw in for Team A's violation (lodging the ball). Arrow is then switched to team B. Next time there is an AP situation, team B will have it.
Reply With Quote