Quote:
Originally Posted by Johnny Ringo
If the player with the ball is dribbling and jumps and while both feet are off the ground lands on two feet they can't have a pivot ... correct?
However, if a player is thrown a pass and and makes a jump stop while catching the ball they can pivot, correct?
If they land one foot first - the first foot to hit the ground is the pivot and can step with the other and shoot or pass.
|
Johnny - if the player picks up his dribble while in the air and lands on both feet simultaneously, he can pivot on either foot. Same with catching a pass.
The only time a player
can't establish a pivot foot is if he/she picks up a dribble with one foot on the ground, then jumps off that foot onto both feet simultaneously. This is a jump stop as defined in the rules, and the player can then lift one or both feet and shoot or pass, but cannot pivot.