View Single Post
  #13 (permalink)  
Old Mon Dec 03, 2007, 06:26pm
Jurassic Referee Jurassic Referee is offline
In Memoriam
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hell
Posts: 20,211
Quote:
Originally Posted by justacoach
1) My exact words to them are to "bite your tongue" and not say a word about any judgement call.
I think evan Jurassic would approve of that one.

2) Rolling their eyes are strictly reserved for interactions w/ mom and dad!
I do
I think evan Jurassic would approve of that one.
I do encourage them to provide appropriate hints in the case of improper rules interps/enforcement.

3)Here's an example...
OOB play, Bonus in effect both ways. B2 is pushed by A3, whistle and foul called on A3. Official starts to administer throw-in for B. Time-out is granted and captain approaches U2 and remarks "No team control on throw-in, we should be shooting FT for bonus" U2 stays with the call but goes tp ask U1 who also upholds the throw-in decision. Finally R approaches and decides to award FT.
Justice (and diplomacy) prevails.

This invites another question for you good folks...
Is this sitch correctable under 2-10 and what are the applicable timelines involved as to clock running or not?
1) Just for the record, I don't think that there's anything the matter with any player on the floor going to an official and politely asking them for an explanation. That player should get their explanation.

2) "Rolling the eyes" isn't asking for an explanation. It's publicly passing judgment on a call, and also showing everybody that the official's judgment was wrong.

3) Yes, it's correctable under 2-10-1(a)-"failure to award a merited free throw." All correctable errors must be caught by the first dead ball after the clock has properly started. So, in this case, there's no problem correcting it because the clock never did start. Even if the throw-in had been administered and the clock had started, the call could still be corrected up to and during the next dead ball.
Reply With Quote