Quote:
Originally Posted by bob jenkins
Doesn't matter how A2 caught the ball. It's an OOB violation, not a throw-in violation. B's ball at the spot where A2 caught the ball, not where A1 throw the ball.
|
Yep, what bob posted is correct. The NFHS moved this provision from 9-2 to 9-3 in the rules book this year. Go check.
Also there is an official 2007-08 interp posted on the website for this play.
SITUATION 3: During an alternating-possession throw-in for Team A, thrower A1 passes the ball directly on the court where it contacts (a) A2 or (b) B2, while he/she is standing on a boundary line. RULING: Out-of-bounds violation on (a) A2; (b) B2. The player was touched by the ball while out of bounds, thereby ending the throw-in. The alternating-possession arrow is reversed and pointed toward Team B's basket when the throw-in ends (when A2/B2 is touched by the ball). A throw-in is awarded at a spot nearest the out-of-bounds violation for (a) Team B; (b) Team A. (4-42-5; 6-4-4; 9-2-2; 9-3-2)