Quote:
	
	
		| 
			
				 
					Originally Posted by ljudge
					
				 
				NCAA allows for a screwy situation on this rule... 
 
Team A punts the ball from their own 45 and a team A member illegally touches the kick at B's 20.  Team B recovers the ball at team B's 15 yard line and advances to his own 30 before he fumbles the ball which is recovered by team A who advances for a TD. 
 
Situation #1:  Team B fouls the runner by an inadvertent facemask. 
 
Ruling:  The foul is automatically declined (because of the TD) so therefore you revert to the spot of illegal touching. 
 
Situation #2:  Team B fouls the runner by with a personal foul version of a facemask. 
 
Ruling:  The score stands and illegal touching ignored. 
			
		 | 
	
	
 ljudge, NCAA or NF rules, why couldn't A decline the foul and take the TD? They don't "have" to take the ball at the spot of illegal/first touching, it is an option.