Quote:
Originally Posted by Mark T. DeNucci, Sr.
Camron:
I feel your pain. Mark's intent in posting the play as he wrote it was to make officials think. It got officials to open their rules books and casebooks and breakdown the play. That is a good thing. Plus, if this play was on a test, one must answer it per the rules book and I would stand by my ruling of a false multiple foul.
1) The fact that A1's field goal attempt was successful makes it easy for the official to determine how many free throws are to be awarded to A1. A1 will be awarded only one free throw for each foul by B1 and B2, therefore A1 will be awarded two free throws whether B1 and B2’s fouls are ruled a multiple foul or a false multiple foul.
2) If A1's field goal had not been successful, then the game officials have a wonderful problem in determining how many free throws to award to A1. Let’s look at this situation as if one were answering a test question.
NFHS R5-S2-A1 and NFHS Casebook Play 5.2.1 SITUATION C (c) and (d) are the pertinent rules references. While this rules and casebook play refer to situations where the field goal attempt was successful, they tell us how to determine the number of free throws to be awarded to A1’s field goal attempt was unsuccessful.
2a) Let’s first look at how Casebook Play 5.2.1 SITUATION C (c) applies to our situation.
B1 and B2’s fouls are ruled a multiple foul:
A1 will be awarded two free throw for each foul by B1 and B2, therefore A1 will be awarded four free throws.
B1 and B2’s fouls are ruled a false multiple foul:
A1 will be awarded three free throw for each foul by B1 and B2, therefore A1 will be awarded six free throws.
2b) Now let’s look at how Casebook Play 5.2.1 SITUATION C (d) applies to our situation.
B1 and B2’s fouls are ruled a multiple foul:
A1 will be awarded one free throw for each foul by B1 and B2, therefore A1 will be awarded two free throws.
B1 and B2’s fouls are ruled a false multiple foul:
A1 will be awarded two free throw for each foul by B1 and B2, therefore A1 will be awarded four free throws.
MTD, Sr.
|
I don't disagree with the point about whether it is a 2 or a 3 point try based on the touching of the ball by a team mate either inside or outside the arc.
My assertion is that if there are two fouls are called and are commited against the same shooter during the same live ball....it IS approximately the same time and will always be a multiple foul. It doesn't matter that one precedes the other by a small amount of time (even if the release occurs in that interval), it is still "approximately" the same time.