View Single Post
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Wed Nov 28, 2007, 05:41pm
WhistlesAndStripes WhistlesAndStripes is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 2,010
Quote:
Originally Posted by kbilla
So if you jump up and don't slap, but push the backboard and cause it to shake and the ball falls out, you don't have basket interference?

The wording from Rule 10-3-5-b says, "Intentionally slapping or striking the backboard or causing the ring to vibrate while a try or tap is in flight or is touching the backboard or is in the basket or in the cylinder above the basket." So I think whether they slap, strike, push, or whatever, it's a T.

There is no provision in the rulebook for you to call BI in this situation.

Look up rule 4-6 for a definition of Basket Interference, and as you read it, keep in mind that the backboard is not considered to be part of the basket.
__________________
If you ain't first, you're LAST!!!
Reply With Quote