Thread: U mayk da cawl
View Single Post
  #47 (permalink)  
Old Wed Nov 28, 2007, 01:11pm
Mark T. DeNucci, Sr. Mark T. DeNucci, Sr. is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Sep 1999
Location: Toledo, Ohio, U.S.A.
Posts: 8,144
M&M Guy and Mark:

I understand your reasoning for wanting to apply NFHS R5-S2-A1. BUT there is nothing in the original play that tells me what A3's court status is when he touched A1's try. Therefore we can have two possible Rulings regarding this Play.

#1) A3's court status was behind the three point arc when he touched A1's try and therefore three points are scored for the successful try. OR,

#2) A3's court status was inside the three point arc when he touched A1's try and therefore NFHS R5-S2-A1 applies and two points are scored for the sucessful try.

In either case NFHS Casebook Play 5.2.1 SITUATION C (c) and (d) is the play that supports our joint Ruling.

MTD, Sr.

P.S. #1 is my story and I am sticking with it.
__________________
Mark T. DeNucci, Sr.
Trumbull Co. (Warren, Ohio) Bkb. Off. Assn.
Wood Co. (Bowling Green, Ohio) Bkb. Off. Assn.
Ohio Assn. of Basketball Officials
International Assn. of Approved Bkb. Officials
Ohio High School Athletic Association
Toledo, Ohio
Reply With Quote