Thread: U mayk da cawl
View Single Post
  #40 (permalink)  
Old Wed Nov 28, 2007, 12:37pm
Mark T. DeNucci, Sr. Mark T. DeNucci, Sr. is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Sep 1999
Location: Toledo, Ohio, U.S.A.
Posts: 8,144
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdw3018
Two questions, Mark. One, why would you construe that a false multiple rather than a multiple? I see two fouls on an airborne shooter being "approximately" at the same time, as the rule says.

Secondly, the touching of the shot by A3 does impact the try if he is inside the 3-point line and/or intentional.


dw3018:

QUESTION 1:

Play 2) A1 is fouled by B1 while in the act of shooting (the ball is still in A1's hands).

Play 3) After A1 has released the ball and while still an airborne shooter, A1 is fouled by B2.

NFHS R4-S19-A11: A mutliple foul is a situation in which two or more teammates commit personal fouls against the same oppoonent at approximately the same time.

NFHS R4-S19-A12: A false multiple foul is a situation in which there are two or more fouls by the same team and the last foul is committed before the clock is started following the first, and at least one of the atributes of a multiple foul is absent.

B1 and B2 personal fouls against A1 are a false multiple foul is because the fouls were not approximately at the same time. B1's foul against A1 occured while A1 still had the ball in his hands, and B2's foul against A1 occured after the ball had left A1's hand. That is a clear indication that the fouls did not occur approximately at the same time.


QUESTION 2:

Play 5) While A1's try is still on its way up, the ball is touched by A3.

NFHS R4-S41-A4: The try ends when the throw is successful, when it is certain the throw is unsuccessful, when the thrown ball touches the floor or when the ball becomes dead.

NFHS Casebook Play 4.41.4 SITUATION A: While the ball is in flight on a try for goal by A1: (a) B1 touches the ball and then time expires; or (b) time expires and then B1 touches the ball. The ball continues in flight and enters Team A's basket. RULING: The goal is scored in both (a) and (b), as B1's touching did not cause the try to end. However if B1's toucing is either goaltending or basketball intereference, the ball becomes dead and two points will be awarded. (See NFHS R6-S7, Exception a, and NFHS R9-S11 & S12.)

Also see Casebook Play SITUATION 5.2.1 C (c).

Per rule it does not matter who touches the ball during the try, the ball remains live as long as the touching is neither basketball interference nor goal tending. And if the try was taken from behind the three point arc and the ball still goes through the basket, then three points are scored.

MTD, Sr.
__________________
Mark T. DeNucci, Sr.
Trumbull Co. (Warren, Ohio) Bkb. Off. Assn.
Wood Co. (Bowling Green, Ohio) Bkb. Off. Assn.
Ohio Assn. of Basketball Officials
International Assn. of Approved Bkb. Officials
Ohio High School Athletic Association
Toledo, Ohio

Last edited by Mark T. DeNucci, Sr.; Wed Nov 28, 2007 at 01:13pm.
Reply With Quote