Quote:
Originally Posted by kbilla
Incidentally I hate 4.43.3 Sit A(c)...how is it that A1 can shoot an airball and recover it without penalty, but in this situation A1 shoots, it gets blocked by B1, A1 catches it and returns to the floor, and you have a travel? Once it is blocked if it is coming back to you and you catch it, it is clear the try will be unsuccessful, therefore the try has ended, why can't you recover it? This is another one of those that I'm quite sure I have never called, it is always either a held ball, or the ball squirts away...what if A1 shoots, B1 blocks it, A1 returns to the floor, and then the ball lands in A1's hands?
|
You're misreading 4.44.3A(c). The ball never left A's hands in this play.
A jumps for a try. While A is holding the ball, B touches it, but so lightly that it doesn't affect A's ability to release the ball. A doesn't release the ball, but returns to the floor still holding the ball.
IF that's what you judge, then it's a travel.
I agree with that, but I will judge that the contact prevented the release in most situations.
You seem to think the play is: A jumps to try for goal and releases the ball. B bats the ball back to A who catches the ball and returns to the floor.
I agree that this is a legal play, but it's not the play that's in the case book.