View Single Post
  #29 (permalink)  
Old Mon Nov 26, 2007, 02:53pm
kbilla kbilla is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 600
Quote:
Originally Posted by Snaqwells
Of course you would, because that's the remedy from CE. He hasn't shot yet, though. So you're saying it's "awarded" when it's at the shooter's disposal? Why?
By telling them there will be two shots, the official has instructed the players not to rebound. This is, in effect, awarding a 2nd shot. The case play may not reference 2-10, but it sure uses the same method of correction.

That said, it doesn't matter too much, since the resolution doesn't change whether you refer to 2-10 or just the case play. The CE resolution fits no matter when you catch this.

Either way, it is not an IW; otherwise you have to give the ball to whomever caught it.

I'm assuming you're issue is that with CE the window for correction is longer. Right? IOW, if B1 grabs the ball that no one else really attempted to rebound and flings it down to B3 streaking for the basket, and you blow your whistle just after B3 throws down an earth-shattering dunk, it's too late?

Since you're never going to make this mistake, let's put this play in a JV game with a couple of relatively inexperienced refs. What do you propose they do?
I don't even know that the window for correction is even technically "longer" for a CE, it is just that the window is "defined" for a CE, whereas for this case it is not, this situation is much more open to judgement than a CE is. I just don't want an inexperienced official to read this and say "oh yeah this is a correctable error", then they start calling everything a correctable error when that may not be the case. If a new official can just understand the prescribed situations that fall under the CE provision and how to remedy them, they will be in great shape - confusing the terminology in this case just makes it harder, that is why I am picking at this...

As far as relatively inexperienced refs in a JV game, I would propose that they know this case play! Otherwise, more often than not they will probably blow the whistle and go to the AP arrow which turns out to be correct in this case....whether or not they know why they did it might be another question
Reply With Quote