Quote:
Originally Posted by kbilla
In your last example, yes you would have a CE here, but this is not the situatution presented in the original post since nobody made an attempt at the rebound. Since there is no obviouse POE in this case (free throw was missed), I would say we go to the arrow here.
|
Of course you would, because that's the remedy from CE. He hasn't shot yet, though. So you're saying it's "awarded" when it's at the shooter's disposal? Why?
By telling them there will be two shots, the official has instructed the players not to rebound. This is, in effect, awarding a 2nd shot. The case play may not reference 2-10, but it sure uses the same method of correction.
That said, it doesn't matter too much, since the resolution doesn't change whether you refer to 2-10 or just the case play. The CE resolution fits no matter when you catch this.
Either way, it is not an IW; otherwise you have to give the ball to whomever caught it.
I'm assuming you're issue is that with CE the window for correction is longer. Right? IOW, if B1 grabs the ball that no one else really attempted to rebound and flings it down to B3 streaking for the basket, and you blow your whistle just after B3 throws down an earth-shattering dunk, it's too late?
Since you're never going to make this mistake, let's put this play in a JV game with a couple of relatively inexperienced refs. What do you propose they do?
Disregard. I just looked over my brilliantly-concocted situation and realized that by CE rules, you'd have to count the basket and go with POE. A's ball for an end-line throwin. IOW, no affect.
Calling it CE or not really has no effect on this play.