View Single Post
  #26 (permalink)  
Old Mon Nov 26, 2007, 02:34pm
kbilla kbilla is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 600
Quote:
Originally Posted by Snaqwells
Let's change this play slightly. Everything is the same except the officials don't blow the whistle until either: 1. A2's putback attempt is in the air, or 2. B1 grabs the rebound and heads down the other way towards an uncontested layup.

The administering official awarded the free throw when he announced "two shots." Whether or not the free throw had been attempted yet doesn't change that.

Finally, what if no one rebounded, and the trail official didn't notice anything wrong until the lead gave the ball back to the shooter for his second attempt. Trail kills the play prior to the shot. This fits the correctable error, and needs to be corrected accordingly. It sure isn't an inadvertant whistle.
Disagree, we can debate the meaning of "awarded", but I don't think you have been "awarded" a free throw attempt until you actually have the attempt - until the second attempt is at the disposal of the free thrower.

In your first two instances, I would kill it and apply this casebook play. Again, think 2-3 and use some judgement - the casebook play even uses the term "disadvantage", that is what you have to consider in this case...especially in trying to determine how long you will let play continue and still stop it to fix this...not sure if I can give you a good answer, but if B rebounded and started to dribble down the floor and nobody else had attempted to get the rebound I have to believe that I would realize that something was wrong before he/she shot an uncontested layup at the other end...

In your last example, yes you would have a CE here, but this is not the situatution presented in the original post since nobody made an attempt at the rebound. Since there is no obviouse POE in this case (free throw was missed), I would say we go to the arrow here.

Bottom line is there is a specific case dedicated to this exact play and nowhere does it cite 2-10. If this was a CE situatuion, I believe it would be addressed within the confines of 2-10, or at least the casebook play would cite 2-10.
Reply With Quote