Thread: Rate my partner
View Single Post
  #32 (permalink)  
Old Tue May 14, 2002, 04:25pm
Dan_ref Dan_ref is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: Just north of hell
Posts: 9,250
Send a message via AIM to Dan_ref
Re: Re: the answers

Quote:
Originally posted by Mark Padgett
Quote:
Originally posted by A Pennsylvania Coach
8. F (unless, under this year's rule change, team A calls a timeout)
15. F (the play is dead at the time of the foul, the basket would only count if the ball had already passed through the basket)

How'd I do?

Not too bad, but a few errors - and remember, we are expected to never be wrong on a rule interpretation from the first time in our careers we step onto a court. Yes, all the questions are false as they were in a recent post on this board.

In 15, it is irrelevant if the ball went through the basket or not. If the foul was committed by A1 before he returned to the floor, there can be no score.

...
[Edited by Mark Padgett on May 14th, 2002 at 04:09 PM]
I must congratulate the coach, even if he did see the thread
where this was already posted with the answer he did do
a good job with his explanations. #15 is interesting
because he seems to be a little confused by the NCAA mens
rule on PC. It actually states that a PC occurs only when
the player has control of the ball, so his explanation
should have been F, the basket counts and A1 is charged
with a *common* foul. But the test did say assume NF rules.

NCAA women's & NF are the same with respect to PC, it
applies when the player has control or is an airborne
shooter, so the basket does not count in #15.
Reply With Quote