Under NCAA rules a team can attempt an onside kick on any free kick, and the kick after a safety is a free kick. Also, the free kick after a safety can be kicked from a tee (like any regular kickoff) or can be kicked from the hand (punt or drop-kick).
Either the coach made a tactical error here (maybe didn't know the rule?), or was simply trying to say we've given it our best and the game is over.
__________________
"It's easy to get the players, Getting 'em to play together, that's the hard part." - Casey Stengel
|