View Single Post
  #51 (permalink)  
Old Sat Nov 24, 2007, 07:42pm
Ralph
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Quote:
Originally Posted by ranjo
This happened during a varsity boys scrimmage this week. A1 drives the lane and is fouled in the act of shooting. After the ball leaves A1's hand, it is tipped (unintentionally) by A2 who is jumping in anticipation of a rebound. the ball deflects off A2's hand and into the basket. (I'm not sure if the ball was above or below the rim at this point)

I was in lead, called a blocking foul, stayed with the action on the floor, and did not see the ball enter the basket. I reported the foul and awarded two free throws. My partner administered the first free throw which was successfull and the players started preparing for a throw-in. My partner says "one more shot" and we realize there is a problem. Partner said the goal should be disallowed due to the ball being dead after the orginal shot since it was tipped before it went in the basket.

Rule book says the ball is live until the try or tap ends. The try ends when the throw is successful, when it is certain the throw is unsuccessful, when the thrown ball touches the floor, or when the ball becomes dead.

At this point I have confused myself and have not come to a rules supported conclusion. When does the ball become dead in this particular situation? If the ball was tipped by the opposing team, would the answer to the question be the same?

I have confidence at least one of you can put it in simple terms for me.
Maybe I missed it somewhere in this thread, but did you state if the shooter was fouled in the air? The act of shooting includes an airborne shooter. Therefore if he was airborne and was blocked on his way down, the try had not ended.

That said, 4.41.5 describes a tap as "an attempt to diirect" the ball. Was this the case? To me, if the initial shot hit off the back of the hand of A5 then went into the basket, it's an "and 1".

If it's a deliberate tap, then I would consider it the same as a "pass and crash" situation and if the ball had left A5's hand ("tap") before the block, then count the basket and award a common foul. If the ball had not left A5's hand before the crash, then ball dead. IMO.
Reply With Quote