View Single Post
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Fri Nov 23, 2007, 12:25am
Nevadaref Nevadaref is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 15,015
Quote:
Originally Posted by sixer
Yeah, I'm specifically looking for the application following an intermission.
If both teams have returned from their lockerrooms even if one or both are over at their bench area, then you would use this method:
7.5.1 SITUATION: The administering official has reached a five-second throw-in count on Team A after placing the ball on the floor when A was not ready to resume play following a time-out. What happens next? RULING: The violation is administered and the ball is made available to Team B for a throw-in, at the same spot. If a Team B player is not in position, the same procedure is followed. If both teams have violated, a technical foul will be assessed for any further delay by either team. Team A must now have a thrower available, plus all other players on the court and Team B must be on the court ready to play also. If either or both teams are not in compliance immediately, a technical foul shall be charged. COMMENT: Each different time a team has delayed returning to the court after a time-out or between quarters, the resumption-of-play procedure should be used. However, if a team refuses to play after technical fouls have been assessed, the game may be forfeited. (5-4-1)

This procedure is also outlined in 7-5-1 of the rules book.

Quote:
Originally Posted by sixer
Your 10-1-9 comment is the most specific answer I'm looking for, thank you.

Which year is that from? I can't find it in 07-08. Of course, why wouldn't I think to look for a case for 10-1-5 in 10-1-9? Silly me.
You are right! I did a cut and paste from the 06-07 book. I hadn't noticed that the comment was dropped in this year's version without any indication by the NFHS.
I also agree with you that this comment would be better placed in another case play that was more specific to the start of the second half. However, we do know that the rule hasn't changed as those words still appear in 4-38.
Reply With Quote