View Single Post
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Thu Nov 22, 2007, 11:53pm
Nevadaref Nevadaref is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 15,015
Quote:
Originally Posted by sixer
Help me figure out the situations when we would apply 10-1-5a vs b after an intermission.

My initial thought would be 10-1-5a would apply if the team not entitled to the AP consumes a minute not being ready to play.

And in 10-1-5b, we'd use Resumption of play if the AP team was not ready. So, say A violates, B gets throw-in, A still not ready, then we apply 10-1-5a?

Do I have it?
10-1-5a applies equally to both teams. It doesn't matter if they have the AP arrow or not. If they fail to return to the court for one full minute after the intermission ending horn sounds, by rule it is team technical foul.

10.1.9 SITUATION: ... COMMENT: The resumption-of-play procedure is in effect to start the second half unless either team is not on the court. In that case regular delay provisions are in force.

An example of a 10-1-5b team techincal foul would be if two players from Team B fail to fill the lane spaces nearest the basket for A1's FT and the RPP is not in effect (The situation does not follow a time-out or intermission.)

10.1.5 SITUATION C: The calling official has reported the foul and proceeds to his/her proper position for the first of two free throws awarded to A1. B1 and B2 are: (a) huddling in the lane; or (b) two B players are not occupying the first two marked spaces next to the end line as required. RULING: In (a), if the huddle delays the officials' administration, Team B is warned. The warning is recorded by the scorer and reported to the head coach. If Team B had been previously warned for delay, a technical foul shall be charged. In (b), Team B will be directed to occupy the required spaces. If there is delay, a technical foul shall be charged to Team B. (4-47)
Reply With Quote