Quote:
Originally Posted by Jurassic Referee
Unless it glances off of the hand(s) of the other member of team A, this try also ended when it touched the teammate. Again, that's from case book play 6.7.6SitA. There's NO judgment involved in that call; it's a rule.
|
Vastly untrue. That casebook play says that A1 "
passes" the ball. A1 never even started a try. There was no try at anytime in this play. The play ruling doesn't say that A1's try ended when striking A2. It simply never existed. That ruling is completely irrelevant to this discussion.
The only point that you got correct is that a try or tap is made with the hands. Therefore, a ball glancing off a teammate's head, arm, or back certainly can't be considered a new try for goal. If the touch was legal and the ball still had a chance to go in (not having dropped well below the ring as in casebook play 4.41.4 SitB), then the original try has not yet ended. You defeated your own case with this point.
You keep advocating that any touch by a teammate automatically ends a try. That's just plain wrong and you know it. My entire point in this thread is that just because a try touches or is touched by a teammate doesn't automatically mean that it can't count.
There is
DEFINITELY judgment involved in this call.
You want a play ruling that has some bearing on this?
Try 5.6.2 SitA.
"The touching does not end the try. The goal is scored."
or 4.41.4 SitA
Granted that the touching is done by an opponent in case, but there is no rule which specifies that the touching must be by the opponent and can't be by a teammate. Notice the rule references for the quoted ruling: 4-41-4 and 5-6-2 exception 1.
The bottom line is that there is no rule which says that a try ends when another player touches the ball. That criterion has nothing to do with how a try ends.