View Single Post
  #36 (permalink)  
Old Wed Nov 21, 2007, 08:19am
jdw3018 jdw3018 is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Oklahoma
Posts: 1,896
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jurassic Referee
And if by some weird chance that exact same scenario came up, I'm sure that any official with a lick of common sense would have no problem ruling that it wasn't a "tap"-i.e. a "try". In any other situation though, methinks also that any official with a lick of common sense would rule that a teammate of the shooter jumping in the air and touching a shot was trying to re-direct that shot and that was a "tap". There's no other reason for that teammate to be jumping in the air to touch the shot, at least no other reason that I can think of.
I agree 100% - but the purpose of the question in the OP was to determine if an inadvertant touching by A2 caused the try to end. And the answer is that an inadvertant touching does not cause it to end.

In reality, I'm approaching it just like you are - I'm assuming any touching by Team A is going to be an intentional tap unless it is obvious that it is not.
Reply With Quote