Quote:
Originally Posted by Jurassic Referee
No, I wouldn't score the points because A2's try started after the horn sounded. A2's "touch" after the horn sounded ended A1's try at the same time. Again, can you come up with a plausible reason for A2 touching the ball other than with the intent of re-directing it at the basket?
It's fine to come up with a twp and have a rules discussion on it, but please try and come up with one that makes a little more sense than this one. Maybe one that explains a situation when A2 might actually touch the ball with his hand(s) on a shot by A1 without A2 having the intent of re-directing it at the basket. I certainly can't think of a logical one.
|
About the only one I can think of Nevada raised earlier - a screener getting fouled back into the shooter (most likely a set-shooter shooting "from the hip" in this scenario). The screener flails his arms in an attempt to regain balance and in doing so unintentionally contacts the ball with his fingertips just after it is released by A1.
Not very common, but certainly possible.